Goode start to 2020 for Otter Vale ladies

2017 champions Queens Ladies are proving untouchable, with a perfect record in the first 5 matches in Division 1.

The team of Hannah Preece, Amy Housley, Leoni Bishop and Mandy Bishop breezed to a 6-0 win over St Leonards.

A changed team of Grace Lee, Learna Herkes, Leoni Bishop and Kate Bovey showed that Queens have strength in depth when they crushed Otter Vale A 6-0.

Defending champions, Ringswell A are chasing hard and have 4 perfect wins from 4 matches, with their most recent being a 6 -0 win over Exeter.

Exeter’s Julia Melling, Stacey Horne, Katie Scotter ad Hazel Wong eased to a 6-0 win over bottom place Ringswell B.

Cindy Li replaced Julia for their match against Chulmleigh but despite some close games the end result was another 6-0 win to Exeter.

Ringswell B and Otter Vale A played out an entertaining 3-3 draw. The draw secured the first points of the season for Ringswell B after a difficult start. Their team of Liz Marker, Sylvia Child, Sharon Strong and Anne Jones held their nerve to bag 3 wins. The Otter Vale team of Teresa Simic, Helen Cavilla, Jo Smith and Mari Challinor finished the match strongly winning the final 2 rubbers to ensure the points were shared.

St Leonards had their best win of the season when defeating Chulmleigh 6-0. Kat Thornton starred on her debut for the Saints and was well supported by her teammates Louise Gubbin, Cherry Law and Sue Banks.

Chulmleigh’s “Old Birds” were celebrating picking up their first points of the season, despite falling to a 4-2 loss at the hands of Ringswell B. The Ringswell B team of Sylvia Child, Becky Bailey, Sharon Strong and Anne Jones have now hauled themselves off bottom place.

Chulmleigh were unable to raise a team for their trip to Otter Vale A so gifted the win 6-0 to Otter Vale.


In Division 2 Sidmouth won their first match of the season at the 4th time of asking - a 4- 2 win over Otter Vale C.  New signings Julie Frost and Yvonne Hudson gave Sidmouth a competitive edge and they were well supported by Grace Williams and Dee Cooper.

Otter Vale B remain the only unbeaten team in Division 2 and look on course to win the Division having opened up a 16 point gap at the top. The Otter Vale team of June Goode, Claire Ross, Mya Walker and Anne Drury cruised to a 6-0 win over Cranford to extend their unbeaten run to 3 matches. Maxine Sweetman replaced Anne for the match against Honiton and helped Otter Vale B to another 6-0 win.

The Otter Vale C team of Susan Ross, Anne Drury, Maxine Sweetman and Margaret Townsend have climbed up to second place after winning the local derby with Honiton 6-0.



Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2020-1-24