Sidmouth to end 13 years of hurt?

In Division 1 Exeter A completed the double over Exeter B, with each win by the same 6-3 margin. Both teams were at full strength, with the A team pairing of Sam Lees and Dave Spencer bagging 3 wins.

St Leonards A narrowly secured only their  2nd win of the season, a nervy 5-4 win over Exeter A.  Once again the Exeter pair of Sam and Dave impressed with 3 wins, but Saints secured the win when Charles Wardale and Zac Phillips won the 8th rubber against Stephen Ford and Chris Bowker 19-21, 21-10, 24-22

Exeter A were once again on the wrong side of a 5-4 scoreline, this time against Ringswell A. Once again Sam Lees picked up 3 wins in a losing cause, with Rob Flack in place of Dave Spencer.  The Ringswell pairs of Nigel Osbourne/Barry Harris and Tony Clarke/Adrian Freeman picked up a brace of wins, with the scoring completed by Ian Walsh and Kieran Tsang – Kieran making his first start of the season for the A team after recovering from a broken wrist.

Sidmouth are still on track to win the Division 1 title for the first time since 2005/06 season. Their unbeaten season looked like it had come to an end at Queens, where they lost 6-3 on the night. However, Queens played an unregistered player so the result was amended to a 5-4 win to Sidmouth.

St Leonards B now lead Division 2 by the narrow margin of 5 points following back to back 7-2 wins over St Leonards C and Exeter C. Their cause was helped by St Leonards C only fielding 2 pairs, but their top pair of Ant Towl and Chris Wardale played well and deservedly picked up 2 wins.

Ant Towl was a supersub for the B team in the match against Exeter B. He partnered Malcolm Travis to 3 wins, with the pair of Sam Maltby and Dan Cordey also unbeaten.

Chulmleigh A’s challenge for the Division 2 title remains strong after a 9-0 demolition of Exeter C, who fielded 2 reserves. Ben Hamill, Matt Harvey, Mark Hamill, George Souliaskas, Adrian Bourner and Jake Lomax won all their rubbers in 2 games.

Otter Vale A climbed to 3rd place after picking up their 3rd win of the season – a hardfought 5-4 win over Ringswell B. Most of the rubbers went into extra time, with Otter Vale securing the win after Dan Clark and Brian Deem triumphed over Rob Price and Richard Burn 19-21, 21-17, 21-14. Andy Taylor and Kieran Tsang were the top pair with 3 wins for Ringswell.

Only 4 points separate the top 3 teams in Division 3a. Otter Vale B sit at the top courtesy of a 6-3 win over Honiton. Each of the Otter Vale pairs of Simon Witts/Callum Williamson, Tim Hall/Andy O’Brien and Mark Brown/Ben Bennett got on the scoresheet . The match result may well have been different had it not been for  an injury in the 1st game of the 3rd rubber which  meant Honiton had to concede 3 rubbers.

Chulmleigh B’s unbeaten run now extends to 3 matches after a fine 8-1 win over Exeter D. Chulmleigh’s Ashley Marshall and Matt Adcock along with Joe Court and Rob Warren came away with 3 wins with teammates Paul Smith and Harry Elson bagging 2 wins. The Torres brothers, Carlos and Anton, salvaged a point for Exeter D. 

The match between Otter Vale B and St Leonards D fell victim to the “Amber  snow” and will be played at a later date.

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2019-2-8