Ringswell A set the pace and have an early season Mixed Division 1 lead

Two wins from two have put Ringswell A at the top of Division 1. Having finished runners-up to Queens last season, they began the campaign with a 9-0 over their B team, before beating St Leonards A 6-3, with the pairs of Ian Walsh/Jess Hill, Tony Clark/Claire Harrison and Joe Davies/Nikita Smethurst winning two rubbers each. Zac Phillips/Sue Banks though were unbeaten for St Leonards.

St Leonards A sit second after getting revenge by beating Ringswell B 6-3, with Phillips/Banks and Tom Phillips/Louise Gubbin both winning all three matches. Defending champions Queens also got off to a winning start against Ringswell B, picking up a 6-3 win, with Jim Teale/Leoni Bishop going unbeaten.

Division 2A sees Exeter B sit atop the table after beating Chulmleigh 7-2, although it could have closed had the visitors not lost all four deciding sets. Gareth Pearse/Theresa Ford and Rob Flack/Hazel Wong were unbeaten for Exeter.

Second in the table are Otter Vale A who have nearly equalled their points tally for last season already. Otter Vale lost all eight matches last season, picking up just eight points, but already have seven after a 5-4  win over Sidmouth A. Nic Williamson/Mya Walker won all three rubbers, while Brian Deem/Heather Rake had one win, before Daniel Clark/Jo Smith won the deciding ninth rubber.

Otter Vale C top division 2B, although have played more games than anyone else. Otter Vale B sit second after winning the interclub derby 7-2, with Rob Jackson/Mya Walker going unbeaten, but the C team recovered with a 6-3 win over Honiton, with Andy O’Brien/Anne Drury and Tim Hall/Sue O’Brien winning all three rubbers. Ringswell C beat Sidmouth B in the other fixture, although Harry Williams/Grace Williams were unbeaten.

Entries are now open for the 68th Exeter & District Badminton League Levels Tournament.

To be played on Tuesday 20 November (Singles), Wednesday 21November (Mens and Ladies Doubles) and Thursday 22 November (Mixed Doubles)

Venue -  Maynards School, Exeter 

Start Time each night 7PM

Please visit the League Website http://www.exeterbadmintonleague.co.uk/tournament-entry-forms/ 

Closing date for entries is Saturday 10th November, so don't delay enter today! 



Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2020-5-20