2011-2012 Ladies league season draws to a close

In Division 3A, Clyst Vale’s Anne Drury, Imogen Batton, Diana Horne and Lucy Ferrier convincingly beat Raleigh 5-1 and take the Division 3A title. Raleigh’s point was picked up by Nicola Martin and Mandy Gurzynski over three ends.

In Division 2, St Leonards B’s Jess Hand, Rachel Marson, Jill McCord and Sharon May enjoyed a 6-0 victory over Honiton with just one rubber going to three ends. Clear Division 2 winners, University’s Beth Hunter, Lucy Manley, Kat Thornton and Kerry Lewis, beat second-place St Leonards B 5-1. The Saints’ point was won by Jess Hand and Sharon May. University also beat Honiton 6-0 in straight games, this time with Frances Pells and Tamsyn Fraser playing in place of Kat and Kerry. Ringswell B’s Anne Jones, Jeanette Allen, Di Brooker and Sharon Strong clinched a 4-2 win over St Leonards B. Jill McCord earned the Saints’ points alongside partners Jess Hand and Rachel Marson in turn. Ringswell B also enjoyed a 6-0 victory over Sidmouth with just one rubber decided in three ends.

In Division 1, all matches have now been played. Queens’ Susie Colwill, Hannah Preece, Jackie Soffe and Hannah Down beat Ringswell A 5-1. Ringswell’s point was picked up by Louise Dann and Sylvia Child. Queens have won the League 11 points ahead of second-place Exeter A. Exeter’s Helen Merrett, Julia Melling, Suzanne Owens and Hannah Manfield were victorious over last place St Leonards 6-0. Exeter also beat Cranford 5-1 when Cranford were only able to field three players.

Ringswell A’s Louise Dann, Sylvia Child, Becky Bailey and Anne Jones drew 3-all with St Leonards A’s Anne White, Sue Banks, Jess Hand and Rachel Marson in a closely-fought contest which saw four rubbers decided in the third end. Ringswell A finish the season in fourth place as they tie on points with St Leonards A and the position is decided on the results on the matches between them. Ringswell A won 4-2 in their opening match and drew 3-all on the return.

View final standings for Ladies league table 2011-2012

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30