Well It's alright, Ringswell riding high in the League


The 2017/18 season has kicked off with 19 teams running down a dream of being crowned champions of their Divisions.
In Division 1 the reigning champions Exeter A team of Mark Trebble, Sam Owens, Callum Owens, Mac Powell, Sam Lees and Geoff Littler, comfortably overcame newly promoted Exeter  B 9-0.
Exeter B are free falling having succumbed to a second 9-0 reverse, this time at the hands of Ringswell A.
Queens B and Ringswell A played a tight match, with no team wanting to back down. Eventually Queens B came out on top 5-4, thanks to 3 wins from their star pair of Nathan Scase and Ben Jordan and a brace of wins from Sam Clark and Ben Herbert. Nigel Osborne and debutant, Mike Yuan, were the pick of the Ringswell pairs, with 2 wins.
Queens A were 8-1 winners in their in house derby with Queens B. The A team pairs of Ian Kirby/Zac Phillips and Lloyd Skinner/Yang Yijie picked up maximum wins, with the B teams point salvaged by Nathan Scase and Ben Jordan.
Ringswell A top the table after a hard fought 7-2 win over St Leonards A.  Ringswell’s  Joe Davies/Anthony Clark and Nigel Osborne/Barry Harriss were undefeated, with Ian Walsh and super sub Ben Boyland picking up one point.
In Division 2, St Leonards B scraped a nervy 5-4 win over a new look St Leonards C, although C team captain Allister Brimble said the following day “ You B Team. You got lucky last night!” Sam Maltby and Dan Cordey led the way for the B team with 3 wins, with the C team points coming courtesy of Owen Waters/Allister Brimble (2) and Jim Feesey/Barry Smethurst (2).
St Leonards C slipped to their second 5-4 loss, this time at the hands of newly promoted Honiton A. Honiton’s Ethan Leach and James Burgess delivered 3 wins and were well supported by George Hawker and Sam Prangley (2).
Honiton A defeated 2 pair Ringswell A 5-4, although none of their pairs could get the better of Ringswell’s Ben Boyland and Mike Yuan.
In Division 3A all teams have played at least 1 match, with Chulmleigh learning to fly at the top.
Exeter D pulled off an amazing 6-3 win over Otter Vale B, despite only having 2 pairs available for the match. Jeremy Smith, Rakash Kripakaran, Richard Vout and Edwin Choi won all their rubbers to secure a famous win.
Tom Laver and Edwin Choi put in a superb unbeaten performance to inspire Exeter D to a 7-2 win over St Leonards D.
The St Leonards D team of Martin Weller, Neil Robson, Chris Wardale, Barrie Sharman, Martin Matthews and Bruce MacPherson triumphed 9-0 over Chumleigh B, although Chulmleigh were unlucky not to pick up a point or two from some close games.
Chulmleigh A are unbeaten after 2 matches, having started their campaign with an 8-1 win on the night over Honiton B and a 9-0 win over Otter Vale B
However in the Honiton match they fielded an unregistered player so the match score was amended to a 5-4 win to Chulmleigh. Jake Lomax and Adrian Bourner picked up 3 wins with the other 2 points coming from the pairing of George Saulaskas and Jack Povey.
Chulmleigh made no mistakes in their team selection for the 9-0 win over Otter Vale B. Matt Harvey/Ben Hamill, Jake Lomax, Adrian Bourner, Will Hamill and Martin Griffiths won all their games in double quick time, leaving the visitors ample time to enjoy the large spread of food.
Finally a reminder that entries are now being taken for the 67th Annual League Levels Tournament, to be held from Tuesday 21st November to Friday 24th November, inclusive, at Maynards School. This is a new format for the event, so please show your support and enter, otherwise it could be the end of the line for these events!

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30