Queens on top

The 2016/17 season has kicked off with a raft of “in house” derbies.

In Division 1 reigning champions Queens A overcame newly promoted Queens B 6-3, with maximum scores for Jamie Roberton/Oscar Mo and Zac Phillips/Nathan Scase.
Queens A had an almightly battle with last years runners-up, Exeter A,  but edged the win 5-4. Ian Kirby, in his first match of the season for Queens, and his partner Zac Phillips were the star performers for Queens with 3 wins.
Queens A extended their advantage at the top with a 9 -0 win over 2 pair Sidmouth A.
3 wins by Nigel Osborne and Adam Carrow set Ringswell on course for a 6-3 win over Sidmouth A. Andy Taylor/Ian Walsh bagged a brace of wins and Ben Boyland/Steve Faulkner chipped in with one. John Carter and Shaun Roberts with 2 wins were the pick of the Sidmouth pairs.
Sidmouth A slipped to their second 6-3 reverse of the season, this time at the hands of St Leonards A. The Saints pair of Tom Phillips and Tim Wardale led the way with 3 wins, ably supported by the pairings of Adrian Midmer/Malcolm Travis (2) and Adrian Wijay/Charles Wardale (1). Sidmouth’s Martyn Schmidt partnered John Carter to 2 wins.
Queens B had a dramatic 5-4 win over St Leonards A, after trailing 4-3. Tim Goode and Alex Moir showed fighting spirit to with 3 wins to turn the game on its head. They were well supported by Lloyd Skinner and 3 reserves – Nick Masson, Craig Skinner and Callum Parker.
In Division 2,  Exeter B started their campaign with a convincing 8-1 win over Exeter C.
St Leonards B also secured a win by the same scoreline over their C team.
The Exeter B team of Duggie Hepburn, Paul Owens, Steven Ford, Gary Bourner, Gareth Pearse and Pete Ford beat newly promoted Queens C 8-1, but the scoreline didn’t truly reflect the closeness of the games, with 4 rubbers going to 3 games.
In Division 3a Honiton A showed no mercy to their clubmates Honiton B, inflicting a 9 -0 win, although Simon Walker and Shane Bowring were unlucky not to pick up any wins, narrowly losing 2 of their 3 rubbers.
Simon and Shane did secure a point in their next match but Honiton B lost 8-1 to Chulmleigh. Jake Rice/Will Hamill and John Down/Adrian Bourner were unbeaten for Chulmleigh.
Otter Vale, comprising of Brian Deem, Tim Hall, Ray Puttick, David Williamson, Dan Clark and Chris Smith inflicted more pain on Honiton B with an emphatic 9-0 win.

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30