Queens sparkle at the top of the tree this Christmas!

Queens top the Division 1 table this Christmas after impressive wins over both Sidmouth A and Exeter A.  The team of Bronya Pike & Jamie Roberton, Sarah Preece & Zac Phillips and Jackie & Ian Kirby beat Sidmouth A 8-1 with Ruth Scrivens & John Carter scoring the point for Sidmouth.  With just one change to the Queens team as Hannah Preece replaced Bronya, they beat Exeter A 9-0. Exeter A were unfortunate to lose two players, each in a different pair, to injury which meant they had to concede two rubbers.  The Ringswell A team of Claire Harrison & Nigel Osborne, Suzanne & Sam Owens and Jess Hill & Ian Walsh had a straightforward 8-1 win over Sidmouth A who were only able to raise two pairs. Julie Frost & Chris Bird scored Sidmouth’s point.   Sidmouth played with two pairs once again in the fixture against St Leonards A, but the quartet of Julie Frost & Martyn Schmidt and Ruth Scrivens & John Carter managed to edge a 5-4 win.  The Exeter A team of Julia Melling & Sam Lees, Vicky Prouse & Russell Walker and Katie Scotter & Rob Flack beat Sidmouth A 6-3, with Vicky & Russell being unbeaten for Exeter .  Five days later Exeter A faced Ringswell A, where Katie & Rob were replaced by Rowan Despard & Geoff Littler and Ringswell A lined up with the same team as they had played in the Sidmouth A fixture.  It was a hard fought match and with two rubbers left to play, Ringswell had their noses in front leading by 4 points to 3, but Exeter A finished in style winning the remaining rubbers, both in a deciding third end and secured a well earned 5-4 victory. The only unbeaten pair of the match were Ringswell’s Suzanne & Sam Owens. 

In Division 2a, the Otter Vale A team of Jo Smith & Daniel Clark, Teresa Simic & Mark Brown and Heather Rake & Brian Deem beat St Leonards C 6-3 despite having to concede two rubbers due to illness.   The St Leonards B team of Claire Hannah & Tom Phillips, Sharon May & Andy Rowe and Jess Hand & Leo Robbins beat Sidmouth B 7-2 in a match which saw all the rubbers decided in straight games. Claire & Tom were unbeaten for St Leonards and both of Sidmouth’s points came from Grace Williams & James Newcombe.  The St Leonards C team of Anne Trevena & Leo Robbins, Liz Goodwin & Allister Brimble and Nicola Anslow & John Gubbin beat Chulmleigh 5-4, Nicola Anslow & John Gubbin were unbeaten, but the match was decided in the final rubber when Liz & Allister beat Sophie & John Down to secure the win for their team.
Ringswell C remain at the top of Division 2b after the team of Sharon Strong & Steve Rice, Anne Jones & Ben Boyland and Chloe Tsang & Richard Burn beat Otter Vale B 8-1 with Otter Vale’s point coming from Maxine & Guy Sweetman.  Honiton are celebrating wins over both Clyst Vale A and Otter Vale B.  The team of Jan Ingram & Ethan Leach, Helena Williams & Roger Tucker and Sue Caller & Sam Prangley beat Otter Vale B 7-2 and then went on beat a two pair Clyst Vale A team 6-3 with Sue Caller this time partnered by James Burgess.  Jan & Ethan were unbeaten in both matches, as were Helena & Roger in the Otter Vale match.  The Clyst Vale B team of Imogen Batten & Steve Hunt, Mandy Gurzyinski & Gary Lacey-Mills and Jennie Edwards & David Bromage beat Cranford 6-3, Imogen and Steve were unbeaten, but the Cranford pairings of Mo Martin & Duncan O’Donnell and Angela Bolt & Nick James both played well to secure Cranford’s first points of the season.   In a close match between Otter Vale B and Clyst Vale A, Otter Vale emerged 5-4 winners thanks to an unbeaten display from Maxine & Guy Sweetman, with the team’s two remaining points being won by Susan Ross & Jay Sweetman. 

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30