Hat trick of wins for Andy Rowe in Masters Tournament


The 2015/2016 Masters Levels Tournament produced some thrillingly close badminton.
The Mens event was played as a round robin event with 7 pairs. Andy Rowe of St Leonards won the title for the 3rd time, this year partnered with Phil Matthews also of St Leonards. The pair playing off a handicap of -3 played some fine badminton of stubborn defending mixed with attacking play on their way to winning 6 out of 7 games and a total score of 125 points. Last years winners Adrian Wijay and Adrian Midmer, also of St Leonards (-12) denied them a perfect record by scraping a 21-20 win. That win secured the runners up spot for them with a points tally of 113 points and 4 wins. The Chulmleigh pair of Adrian Bourner and Matt Raasch-Sotinwa (+8) secured 3rd place with 113 points, but won 1 fewer game than the 2nd placed pair.
3 Pairs contested the Ladies with last years winners Chulmleighs Michelle Wylde and Karen Parish (+6)  retaining their title in style with a maximum score of 126 points. Di Brooker and Anne Jones of Ringswell (Scratch) notched up 98 points to take second place with Teresa Ford and Julie Frost (-7) in 3rd place    
Mens Over 40’s
1st  – Andy Rowe and Phil Matthews (St Leonards)              -3             125 points
2nd – Adrian Wijay and Adrian Midmer (St Leonards)          -12            113 points
3rd – Adrian Bourner and Matt Raasch-Sotinwa (Chulmleigh) +8          113 points
Ladies Over 40’s
1st -   Michelle Wylde and Karen Parish (Chulmleigh)            +6              126 points
2nd – Di Brooker and Anne Jones (Ringswell)                       SCR             98 points
3rd - Teresa Ford (Exeter) and Julie Frost                                -7                85 points

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30