Saints win in Division 1!

Division1 champions Queens A have started the defence of their title with a hard fought 8-1 win over newly promoted St Leonards A. Ian Kirby, Zac Phillips, Oscar Mo and Darren Frisby were all unbeaten, with Jamie Roberton and Ben Herbert bagging a brace of wins.

St Leonards A enjoyed their first win in 6 years in Division 1, beating Exeter B 6 – 3. Vernon Smeed and Joe Davies led the way with 3 wins and were well supported by Tom Phillips/Adrian Midmer (2) and Adrian Wijay/Tim Wardale (1)

Exeter A, last seasons runners up, have started the new season in impressive form with back to back wins. They won their in house derby 9-0 over Exeter B, and the team of Russ Walker, Gareth Pearse, Geoff Littler, Mark Trebble, Sam Lees and Rob Flack followed this up with a 7-2 win over Sidmouth A
Sam Owens, Callum Owens and dad Paul Owens all helped steer Ringswell A to a 6-3 win over Sidmouth A. Sam and Callum picked up 3 wins, Paul and his partner Andy Taylor 1 win and Nigel Osborne/Ian Walsh chipped in with 2 wins. John Carter and Martin Schmidt (2) were the pick of the Sidmouth pairs.
In Division 2 St Leonards B overcame a stubborn St Leonards C 7-2 thanks to an impressive unbeaten display by the pairing of Isaac Chung and Charles Wardale.
The Queens B team of Tim Goode, Ben Herbert, Lloyd Skinner, Alex Moir, Chris Millen and Nick Masson were in top form on their way to a comfortable 9 -0 win over St Leonards C
The Exeter C team of Alex Bulley, Jack Southcott, Alastair Banks, Sunam Uddin, Tom Laver and Bibek Guring beat Otter Vale in doublequick time, winning 9-0.
In Division 3A, St Leonards D lead the way with 2 wins from 2 matches. The team of Martin Weller, Phil Taylor, Mike Lamboll, Martin Matthews, Lee Clatworthy and Barrie Sharman triumphed 6-3 over Honiton, although none of the pairs could get the better of Honitons top pairing of Roger Tucker and Sam Prangley. Paul Stanley replaced Phil Taylor for the Saints visit to Sidmouth B, and together with his partner Martin Weller won all 3 of his rubbers to guide St Leonards D to a 7 -2 win.
The Queens C team of Ben Jordan, Olly Fernandes, Jamie Dawe, Ed Moffatt, Sam Clark and Chris Millen had a stunning debut with an 8 -1 win over Clyst Vale.

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30