Close encounter for St Leonards and Ringswell A teams

St Leonards A secured their first win of the season in a hard fought match against Ringswell A in Division 1.  Anne Stanley & Adrian Midmer were unbeaten for St Leonards with team mates Louise Gubbin & Tim Wardale picking up a further two points for the team’s 5-4 win.

Exeter B who are third in Division 2a, have secured two wins over Ringswell B. In the first fixture, the team of Hannah Oxley & Alexey Bessudnov, Katie Scotter & Gary Bourner and Verity Greenaway & Chris Bowker won 5-4. In the return fixture, Theresa Ford & Geoff Littler were unbeaten for Exeter B in the team’s 7-2 win with the partnerships of Katie Scotter & Tom Phillips and Verity Greenaway & Peter Ford each picking up two points towards the teams win.   It was a match of two halves when Sidmouth B met St Leonards B. Sidmouth got off to a flying start winning three of the first four rubbers, but St Leonards went on to win all of the last five rubbers to secure a 6-3 win and maintain their unbeaten record. Jess Hand & Malcolm Travis were unbeaten for St Leonards B.   Sidmouth A remain at the top of the table thanks to the team of Lisa Maskell & John Carter, Ruth Scriven & Simon Heusen and Julie Frost & Chris Bird beating Sidmouth B 8-1. Hilary Herd & Paul Carter picked up the point for Sidmouth B.
St Leonards C remain unbeaten at the top of Division 2b after the team of Sharon May & Antony Towl, Rachel Marson & Andy Rowe and Lynn Travis & John Gubbin beat Ringswell C 9-0.   The match was a battle of the reserves with St Leonards C fielding three and Ringswell C, four. The match was closer than the scoreline suggests with four rubbers being decided in the third end.   Honiton A beat Otter Vale B 7-2 with the partnerships of Hazel Leach & Sam Prangley and Janet Ingram & Ethan Leach unbeaten.
In Division 3a, Axminster and Honiton B barely had time to get over their New Year celebrations when they met on the 2nd January. Sue Caller & James Goody were unbeaten for Honiton B but the match was decided in the final rubber between Honiton’s Zaria Taylor & Simon Walker against Axminster’s Sandy Sheldon & Lester Cawley which saw Zaria & Simon win 21-14 in the third end and Honiton B win the match 5-4.  St Leonards D are the one of three St Leonards team to currently have a ‘played four won four’ record in the league.   The team of Liz Goodwin & Ali Rehemi, Sue Brown & Lee Clatworthy and Anne Trevena & Allister Brimble beat a two pair Axminster team 7-2.  The team were unchanged when they swept aside Clyst Vale B 9-0 to maintain their unbeaten record.   Axminster beat Cranford B 6-3 with the partnerships of Sandy Sheldon & Nigel Fowler and Sari Brice & Jay Sweetman unbeaten. Axminster conceded two rubbers due to injury.    The Raleigh team of Debby Yates & Paul Bryon, Jenny Batten & Richard Robinson and Angela Bolt & Mark Davies beat Cranford B 6-3. Debby & Paul were unbeaten for Raleigh with Cranford’s points coming from Lianne & Duncan O’Donnell and Mary Knight & Tim Ellis.


Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30