Treble win for Roberton in League Annual Tournament

There was a triple success for Jamie Roberton at this year’s Exeter and District Badminton League’s Annual Tournament.  Jamie successfully defended his singles and mixed doubles titles and also won the men’s championship for the first time with his Cranford clubmate, Zac Phillips.

In the Men’s Singles Final Jamie defeated the former champion, Mark Trebble (Cranford) in three sets and in the Men’s Doubles Final Roberton & Phillips beat the number one seeds and champions for the last six years, Trebble & Dan Harris (Exeter) in straight sets.
Roberton defended the Mixed Championship with a different partner this year, Betty Blair (Cranford), where they defeated Exeter’s mother and son partnership - Suzanne & Sam Owens who in the semi-final had put out the number two seeds, Trebble & Leanne Debenham (Cranford) in a close three-setter.Sarah Preece (Queens) won all her games to win the Ladies Singles for the second time.  Four ladies contested the round robin event with Leanne Debenham (Cranford) finishing in second place.
In the Ladies’ Doubles Cranford’s Nikita Smethurst successfully defended her title, this time with Leanne Debenham, defeating their clubmates, Lisa Stevens & Sandra Lear.
There were some close games in the round-robin Handicap events. Sandra Lear (Cranford) and Julie Frost (Sidmouth) won the Ladies Doubles with maximum points to finish four points ahead of the young Honiton/Sidmouth pairing of Deborah Green and Grace Williams. Bernard & Jack Langlois (Cranford) won Section A of the Mens Doubles and the winners of Section B were the St. Leonards pair - Pierre Aumjaud and Anthony Graham. Only 14 points separated the pairs in the top section of the Mixed Doubles which was won by Adrian Wijay and Jess Hand (St. Leonards) who finished one point ahead of their clubmates Adrian Midmer and Anne Stanley.   James Allum (Clyst Vale) and Nicola Martin (Raleigh) were undefeated at the top of Section B and only 3 points ahead of Paul Stanley (Culm Valley) and Deborah Green (Honiton). 
Results of Level Events
Ladies Singles   (Round Robin)
Winner:         Sarah Preece (Queens)
Runner-up:   Leanne Debenham (Cranford)
Men’s Singles  
Semi-finals:-    Jamie Roberton (Cranford) beat Ben Watkins (Queens) 21-18, 21-13
                            Mark Trebble (Cranford) beat Joe Davies (Cranford) 21-13, 21-16 
Final:-                Roberton beat Trebble 21-11, 16-21, 21-17
Plate Final:       Geoff Littler (Exeter) beat Sam Owens (Exeter) 21-17, 21-19
Ladies’ Doubles 
Winners:        Nikita Smethurst and Leanne Debenham (Cranford)  
Runners-up:   Sandra Lear and Lisa Stevens (Cranford)                           
Men’s Doubles 
Semi-finals:-       Dan Harris (Exeter) and Mark Trebble(Cranford) beat Sam Owens and Ryan Parker-   Bowker (Exeter) 21-14, 21-14
Jamie Roberton and Zac Phillips (Cranford) beat Ben Watkins and Harry Hacking (Queens) 21-15, 21-10
Final:-                    Roberton and Phillips beat Harris and Trebble 21-12, 21-18
Plate Final:          Sam Lees and Geoff Littler (Exeter) beat Joe Davies and Vernon Smeed (Cranford) 21-11, 21-19
Mixed Doubles 
Semi-finals:-       Jamie Roberton and Betty Blair (Cranford) beat Gareth Pearse(Exeter) and Julie Frost
                                (Sidmouth) 21-10, 25-23
                                Sam Owens and Suzanne Owens (Exeter) beat Mark Trebble and Leanne Debenham                     (Cranford) 14-21, 21-19, 21-19
Final:-                    Roberton and Blair beat Owens and Owens 21-9, 21-16
Plate Final:         Joe Davies and Nikita Smethurst (Cranford) beat Tim Wardale and Louise Gubbin
                             (St. Leonards) 21-16, 21-19
Handicap Tournament
Ladies’ Doubles 
Winners:              Sandra Lear and Julie Frost (Cranford/Sidmouth -6)  on 126 points
Runners-up:       Deborah Green and Grace Williams (Honiton/Sidmouth +5)   on 122 points 
 Men’s Doubles – Section A
Winners:             Bernard Langlois and Jack Langlois (Cranford Scr) on 159 points 
Runners-up:       Joe Davies and Vernon Smeed (Cranford -8) on 151 points
Men’s Doubles – Section B
Winners:             Pierre Aumjaud and Anthony Graham (St. Leonards +5) on 162 points
Runners-up:       Mark Stanley and David Stanley (Culm Valley +5) on 155 points
Mixed Doubles - Section A 
Winners:             Adrian Wijay and Jess Hand (St. Leonards -1) on 97 points
Runners-up:       Adrian Midmer and Anne Stanley (St. Leonards -7) on 96 points
Mixed Doubles - Section B 
Winners:             James Allum and Nicola Martin (Clyst Vale/Raleigh Scr) on 105 points
Runners-up:       Paul Stanley and Deborah Green (Culm Valley/Honiton +3) on 102 points

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30