Queens crowned champions of division 2a

 Queens have been crowned the champions of Division 2a thanks to 9-0 wins over both Sidmouth A and St Leonards C. The team of Sarah Preece & Ben Watkins, Bronya Pike & Ben Herbert and Kate Povey & Ed Moffatt beat St Leonards C.  Sarah and Kate also played in the Sidmouth match this time with team mates, Lauren Theedom, Darren Frisby, Tim Goode and Nathan Scase.  The Ringswell B team of Sylvia Child & Phil Matthews and Sharon Strong & Ben Boyland still managed to beat Otter Vale A 5-4 despite being one pair down.


Clyst Vale A have held on to secure the division 3a title by just one point over rivals St Leonards D. St Leonards D lost 6-3 to Axminster with one rubber conceded as time ran out, but the team of Liz Goodwin & Ali Rehemi, Katie Brown & Allister Brimble and Nicola Anslow & Martin Matthews beat Clyst Vale B 9-0 which meant the title would be decided in the match between Clyst Vale A and St Leonards D.  It was a nervy match with five rubbers decided in the third end and thanks to an unbeaten display by Liz and Ali, St Leonards D won the match 6-3 and inflicted Clyst Vale A with their first defeat of the season in their very last match, but thankfully for Clyst Vale, the 3 points in defeat were enough to take the title.   Axminster finish in third place after the team of Sandy Sheldon & Lester Cawley, Gill Bullock & Eric Samways and Sari Brice & Jay Sweetman beat a two pair Clyst Vale B side 8-1 with Clyst Vale’s point coming from Ann Bromage & Guy Allum.


The Cranford A team of Lisa Stevens & Jamie Roberton, Sandra Lear & Mark Trebble and Nikita Smethurst & Zac Phillips beat a two pair Ringswell A side 8-1 and the team merely have to fulfil their final fixture of the season to be this year’s Division 1 champions.


Having already secured the division 2b title, Sidmouth B finished their season in style with the team of Grace Williams & James Newcombe, Hilary Herd & Paul Carter and Ann Price & Graham Baker beating Otter Vale B 8-1 with Otter Vale’s Sue O’Brien & Daniel Clark getting the point on the board for their team. Sue & Daniel were unbeaten in their teams 5-4 win over Ringswell C. Unusually, despite the close result no rubbers in the entire match went to a deciding end.   The same cannot be said for Honiton A’s 5-4 win over Ringswell C which saw five rubbers go to a decider. Ringswell’s Di Brooker & Brian Jeary were unbeaten on the night despite being on the losing side, winning all their points in a deciding third end.  Amy Holland & Ben Hamill lead the way for Chulmleigh in their teams 5-4 win over Otter Vale B with the pairs of Sara Holland & Mat Older and Michelle Wylde & Adrian Bourner each picking up a point to secure the victory.

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30