Sidmouth B secure Division 2B Title

Sidmouth B have taken the title in Division 2b following an 8-1 win over Honiton A. The team of Grace Williams & James Newcombe, Ann Price & Paul Carter and Sarah Bond & Steve Pritchard secured the win and with only one match left to play cannot be caught.


Clyst Vale A have continued their unbeaten run in Division 3a after the team of Lucy Ferrier & Dan Cordey, Irene Newcombe & Patrick Cordey and Jennie Edwards & James Allum beat Cranford B 9-0.  St Leonards D are in second place, 20 points behind Clyst Vale A, but with two matches in hand, they also beat Cranford B 9-0 with Liz Goodwin & Ali Rehemi, Nicola Anslow & Lee Clatworthy and Anne Trevena & Martin Matthews making up the St Leonards team.  The match between Honiton B and Axminster could not have been c loser. Seven rubbers went to a deciding third end and the result ended in a 5-4 victory for the Axminster team of Sandy Sheldon & Lester Cawley, Gill Bullock & Eric Samways and Sari Brice & Jay Sweetman.  Honiton B fared better when they beat Clyst Vale B 7- 2 with Sue Fallows & Mark Stanley and Zaria Taylor & Simon Walker unbeaten for Honiton.


Cranford A are hot on the heels of Exeter A in Division 1.  The Cranford A team of Claire Hannah & Jamie Roberton, Rowan Despard & Zac Phillips and Lisa Stevens & Joe Davies beat Exeter B 8-1 with Exeter’s point being won by Bridgette Jones & Geoff Littler.  In the top of table clash between Cranford A & Exeter A, it was Cranford who took the victory with a 7-2 win over their rivals. Betty Blair & Jamie Roberton and Leanne Debenham & Mark Trebble were unbeaten for Cranford who are now seven points behind Exeter, but with two matches in hand.  Exeter A had an 8-1 win over St Leonards A with Suzanne & Sam Owens and Sue Colwill & Russell Walker unbeaten.  Claire Harrison & Nigel Osborne and Kate Haller & Paul Owens were unbeaten when Ringswell A beat the University 8-1.


In Division 2a Sidmouth a beat St Leonards C 7-2 with John Carter & Ruth Scrivens and Julie Frost & Chris Bird unbeaten for Sidmouth A. The Ringswell B team of Sylvia Child & Guy Rollisson, Sharon Strong & Ben Boyland and Anne Jones & Phil Matthews also beat St Leonards C 7-2. 

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30