New Year brings cheer for Ringswell C

 In Division 2b Ringswell C are celebrating their first wins of the season after beating Raleigh 8-1 twice in 4 days! The Ringswell pairing of Heather Gould & Emmanuel Sapin were unbeaten in both matches as was Brian Jeary, partnered by Kathryn Brown in their home match and Di Brooker in the away fixture.  Sidmouth B remain unbeaten at the top of the division following a 6-3 win over second placed Chulmleigh with the Sidmouth duo of Grace Williams & James Newcombe unbeaten, supported by Hilary Herd & Steve Pritchard (2) and Linda McCracken & Matt Wallis (1).  The Honiton A team of Janet Ingram & Ethan Leach, Sue Fallows & Roger Tucker and Sue Caller & Martyn Schmidt beat Otter Vale B 7-2 with both of Otter Vale’s points coming from Sue O’Brien & Dan Clark. 

Clyst Vale B nearly caused an upset in Division 3a, after they were narrowly beaten 5-4 by their A team who remain top of the division.  Jennie Edwards & James Allum led the way for the A team winning all three of their rubbers  and a win each for Lucy Ferrier & Dan Cordey and Irene Newcombe & Patrick Cordey saw the A team over the winning line.  The B team worked hard for their four points with three being won in the deciding game.   The Axminster team of Sandy Sheldon & Lester Cawley, Margaret Bowditch & Eric Samways and Sari Brice & Jay Sweetman beat Cranford B 9-0.
When Cranford A took to the court against Exeter A the week before Christmas in Division 1, only one would start the New Year with their unbeaten record intact and that is Cranford A. They beat Exeter A 5-4 with  Claire Hannah & Mark Trebble unbeaten and a point each won by Sandra Lear & Zac Phillips and Nikita Smethurst & Jamie Roberton.   Exeter A started the evening strongly winning four of the first six rubbers, but Cranford A finished in style winning all of the final three rubbers to seal the victory.   Exeter A bounced back with an 8-1 win over their clubs B team and a 9-0 win over the University. Julia Melling & Sam Lees and Suzanne & Sam Owens were unbeaten in both matches as were Vicky Prouse & Jamie Samuels against the University. Exeter B’s point came from Katie Scotter & Gareth Pearse.    Ringswell A beat St Leonards A 5-4 with Claire Harrison & Nigel Osborne unbeaten and Kate Haller & Paul Owens and Becky Bailey & Ian Walsh each winning a point. The St Leonards A partnerships of Anne Stanley & Adrian Midmer and Louise Gubbin & Tim Wardale each won two points for their team. 
In Division 2a Queens remain unbeaten after the team of Hannah Preece & Darren Frisby, Sarah Preece & Ben Herbert and Kate Povey & Tim Goode beat top of the table St Leonards B 9-0.  Sidmouth A suffered their first defeat of the season after being beaten 5-4 by Ringswell B. The Ringswell B team of Sylvia Child & Guy Rollisson, Sharon Strong & Ben Boyland and Anne Jones & Phil Matthews secured the victory despite none of them being able to beat the Sidmouth duo of Ruth Scrivens & John Carter.  The St Leonards B team of Astrid Janssens & Mark Newson, Jess Hand & Andy Rowe and Kay Brewer & Leo Robbins are celebrating wins over their own C team, 9-0 and Otter Vale A, 7-2.  St Leonards’ C were unlucky not to pick up a point with Ruth McLelland & Sylvian Pasquier losing 27-29 in the deciding game of the final rubber of the evening.   The Otter Vale A fixture was a hard fought match with five rubbers decided in the third game, two of these saw Otter Vale win their points.

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30