Mixed Titles Decided

The titles have now been decided in all four of the mixed divisions. In Division 1, Exeter A take the title following a win over second placed Cranford. The team of Julia Melling & Jamie Roberton, Suzanne Owens & Dan Harris and Sarah Nickells & Sam Owens beat Cranford 5-4 although no Exeter pair could beat the Cranford duo of Alice Feesey & Zac Phillips.   Alice & Zac were unbeaten once again when Cranford beat Exeter B 6-3 with Cranford’s remaining points coming from Nikita Smethurst & Vernon Smeed (2) and Lisa Stevens & Joe Davies (1).  Despite only having two pairs, Exeter B beat Sidmouth A 5-4 with Vicky Prouse & Sam Lees unbeaten for Exeter B.

Having already secured the Division 2a title, the University had the perfect end to their season when the team of Helen Ward & James Bell, Lucy Manley & Mark Milton & Lucy Battersby & Andy Muir beat Ringswell C 9-0.

This seasons Division 2b winners are Otter Vale A. Despite losing their unbeaten record in a 5-4 defeat at the hands of Chulmleigh.  Hannah Down & Ben Hamill were unbeaten for Chulmleigh with team-mates Ruth Crumbie & Mat Older and Karen Parish & Adrian Bourner each picking up a point.  Otter Vale A got back to their winning ways with an 8-1 win over Sidmouth B. Heather Rake & Brian Deem were unbeaten as were Su Cotton and David Lloyd. Sidmouth’s point was won by Hilary Herd & James Newcombe.   Sidmouth B secured wins over both Otter Vale B 6-3 and St Leonards D 8-1. Hilary & James were unbeaten in both matches, despite going to a third end in all 3 rubbers in both fixtures!  Ann Price & Steve Pritchard were also unbeaten in the St Leonards D match, with Deirble O’Reilly & Sam Maltby picking up the point for St Leonards.

Honiton secured the Division 3a title when the team of Sue Fallows & Roger Tucker, Sue Caller & Matt Durrant and Janet Ingram & James Goody beat Clyst Vale A 9-0.  The Raleigh pairs of Mandy Gurzynski & Paul Byron and Angela Bolt & Duncan Miller were both unbeaten in their teams 7-2 win over Clyst Vale B. 

Division 1
Cranford 6 Exeter B 3
Cranford 4 Exeter A 5
Sidmouth A 4 Exeter B 5

Division 2a
University 9 Ringswell C 0

Division 2b
Otter Vale B 3 Sidmouth B 6
Chulmleigh 5 Otter Vale A 4
Sidmouth B 8 St Leonards D 1
Otter Vale A 8 Sidmouth B 1

Division 3a
Honiton 9 Clyst Vale A 0
Clyst Vale B 2 Raleigh 7

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30