University take Division 2a title

The University team have taken the Division 2a title this season, following wins over St Leonards C, Ringswell B and St Leonards B.  No fewer than 13 players represented the University across the 3 matches, James Bell lead the way, unbeaten in all three matches, partnered by Kerry Lewis against St Leonards C and Lucy Manley against Ringswell B and St Leonards B.  Lucy Battersby was unbeaten in two of the matches partnered by Milo Rapacioli and Mark Milton.  St Leonards B beat Ringswell B 5-4 with Kay Brewer & Leo Robbins unbeaten and Jill McCord & Tim Wardale picking up the remaining two points.

The Otter Vale A team of Heather Rake & Brian Deem, Teresa Simic & Ray Puttick and Su Cotton & David Lloyd beat St Leonards D 9-0 and will take the Division 2b title providing they fulfil their remaining two fixtures.  In a close match between St Leonards D and Chulmleigh, Chulmleigh emerged 5-4 winners. Hannah and John Down were unbeaten for Chulmleigh, but the match was decided in the final rubber when Chulmleigh’s Michelle Wylde & Ben Hamill beat St Leonards D’s Sue Morrish & Allister Brimble 21-19, 17-21, 21-19 and denied St Leonards D their first win of the season.

In Division 3a, the Honiton team of Helena Williams & Roger Tucker, Zaria Taylor & Ethan Leach and Sue Caller & Matt Durrant beat Clyst Vale B 9-0 and will take the title providing they fulfil their last two fixtures.  Axminster are celebrating wins over Clyst Vale B 7-2 and St Leonards E 5-4.  Sandy Sheldon & Lester Cawley were unbeaten in both matches.  Sari Brice & Jay Sweetman were unbeaten in the Clyst Vale match and picked up two points against St Leonards.   Lauren Winsor & Mark Stanley lead the way with an unbeaten display in St Leonard E’s 6-3 win over Raleigh.  The teams remaining points came from Kiera Dymond & Lee Clatworthy (2) and Anne Trevena & Mike Lamboll (1).

Exeter A remain unbeaten at the top of Division 1 following a 7-2 win over Ringswell A. Leanne Debenham & Russell Walker were unbeaten for Exeter.   In Cranford’s 6-3 win over Ringswell A, the Cranford pairs of Alice Feesey & Zac Phillips, Nikita Smethurst & Vernon Smeed and Lisa Stevens & Joe Davis each picked up two points, but none of them could beat the Ringswell A duo of Emily Scott & Nigel Osbourne.  Emily & Nigel were unbeaten once again, as were teammates Claire Harrison & Paul Owens when Ringswell A beat Sidmouth A 6-3.  It must have been a long night when St Leonards A met Sidmouth A with seven rubbers being decided in a third end.  In the 6-3 win for St Leonards A, Anne White & Adrian Midmer and Louise Gubbin & Phil Nicholls were unbeaten for St Leonards A although the third pair of Sue Banks & Mark Newson were unlucky not to score losing all their rubbers in the deciding end.
Division 1
Ringswell A 3 Cranford 6
Sidmouth A 3 Ringswell A 6
St Leonards A 6 Sidmouth A 3
Exeter A 7 Ringswell A 2

Division 2a
University 7 St Leonards C 2
St Leonards B 5 Ringswell B 4
Ringswell B 3 University 6
 St Leonards B 0 University 9

Division 2b
Otter Vale A 9 St Leonards D 0
St Leonards D 4 Chulmleigh 5

Division 3a
Honiton 9 Clyst Vale B 0
St Leonards E 6 Raleigh 3
Axminster 7 Clyst Vale B 2
St Leonards E 4 Axminster 5

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-30